Blog

Strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment

Uber AmmendmentTimothy Ferris wrote an awesome rant letter this morning regarding the Anti-Competition and Pro-Monopoly tactics of Washington Politicians.

Instead of having Taxis compete for business with Uber, they simply want to legislate away their advantage.

Incumbents are too afraid to compete like every other business in America has to so they want law makers to do their dirty work.

Well, those law makers are ELECTED and we can let them know what we, the AMERICAN PEOPLE think about this!

This short post is more like a personal letter, because I just came across something that made me very angry. Namely, a tweet from my bud, Kevin Rose: Wow, a business (Uber) is prevented from lowering its prices.. wait.. what? We live in America, right?
http://tcrn.ch/NfYOT3

Tim Ferriss took the time to put together every person’s contact information on the Council. They need to all be contacted and told this is unacceptable and we won’t stand for it!

I have Emailed and Tweeted every one of the below people already. Took 10 minutes. I will be calling as many as possible later today!

Take Action

THE COUNCIL VOTES ON THE UBER AMENDMENT [TODAY]!

If each of us writes or calls our DC Council people, we could make an impact on this law. What are we asking for?

Strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment.

Here are the City Council members’ contact info. Call/write as many of them as possible!

Phil Mendelson (Chairman), (202) 724-8064, pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Mary Cheh, Ward 3, (Chairperson of Committee on the Environment, Public Works and Transportation), (202) 724-8062, mcheh@dccouncil.us, @marycheh
Michael Brown, at-large, (202) 724-8105, mbrown@dccouncil.us,@cmmichaelabrown
Jim Graham, Ward 1, (202) 724-8181, jgraham@dccouncil.us, @jimgrahamward1
Jack Evans, Ward 2, (202) 724-8058, jevans@dccouncil.us, @jackevansward2
Muriel Bowser, Ward 4, (202) 724-8052, mbowser@dccouncil.us, @murielbowser
Kenyan McDuffie, Ward 5, (202) 724-8028, kmcduffie@dccouncil.us,@kenyanmcduffie
Tommy Wells, Ward 6, (202) 724-8072, twells@dccouncil.us, @tommywells
Yvette Alexander, Ward 7, (202) 724-8068, yalexander@dccouncil.us, @cmyma
Marion Barry, Ward 8, (202) 724-8045, mbarry@dccouncil.us, @marionbarryjr
David Catania, at-large, (202) 724-7772, dcatania@dccouncil.us, @cataniapress
Vincent Orange, at-large, (202) 724-8174, vorange@dccouncil.us,@vincentorangedc

About the author